Ryan Patterson

Founded by Louisville musician Ryan Patterson and including Kayhan Vaziri and Carter Wilson, power trio Coliseum have grown to become one of today’s quintessential contemporary punk bands. Successfully melding progressive musicianship, hardcore fervor, and vital social awareness into one constantly evolving artistic vision.

Over the last decade Coliseum have released music on a host of labels including; Temporary Residence, Relapse, Level Plane, Auxiliary (Ryan’s own label), and Deathwish.

Anxiety’s Kiss is the new album from Coliseum, recorded at The Magpie Cage by producer/engineer J. Robbins (Jawbox, Burning Airlines). “Anxiety’s Kiss” is a hook-laden maturation of the Coliseum sound. Nods to their early D-Beat leanings are there, but it is their willingness to embrace Post-Punk melody and explore the space between notes that make “Anxiety’s Kiss” so alluring. Confidently growing within the punk world, without ever leaving it behind.

“We Are The Water” kicks things off with a synth-driven stomp while lyrically serving as a poignant social awakening and call for human empathy. Amidst a tangle and twang of melody, “Course Correction” and “Wrong/Goodbye” then emerge to tackle the ripe subjects of class division and police brutality. “Drums & Amplifiers” picks up pace, taking on those who reflect on their punk past rather than absorb the spirit that still charges the air around us. It’s not all social and subcultural commentary though. The dizzying “Dark Light Of Seduction” and sultry “Sharp Fangs, Pale Flesh” (where J. Robbins guests performing the BulBul Tarang) are darkly provocative narratives about the power of lust and love. In soul and tone, they both interject an emotional underbelly to it all. Robbins also adds bass on “Comedown”, an industrial-tinged romp led by Vaziri’s baritone guitar and Wilson’s booming toms. Coincidentally, it is also the first Coliseum song ever recorded to not feature Patterson on guitar. “Sunlight in a Snowstorm” is the band at their most melodic, with a snow-covered New York City as its lyrical backdrop. The high beam lit, cinematic noir of “Driver at Dusk” and infectious, fuzzed-out “Escape Yr Skull” lastly descend to close out the album. A flawless, yin and yang pairing that is Coliseum at the peak of their experimental and anthemic powers.



Coliseum Anxiety’s Kiss

We are the Water
Course Correction
Drums & Amplifiers
Dark Light of Seduction
Sharp Fangs, Pale Flesh
Sunlight in a Snowstorm
Driver at Dusk
Escape Yr Skull

Coliseum Sister Faith

Disappear From Sight
Doing Time
Love Under Will
Under the Blood of the Moon
Used Blood
Late Night Trains
Everything in Glass
Black Magic Punks
Save Everything
Bad Will
Sister Faith

Coliseum Parasites EP

One Last Night
Waiting (Too Late)
The Fiery Eye
Ghost of God
The Big Baby
Gone with the Pope
Blood of the Beasts
Give Up and Drive

Coliseum House With A Curse

Blind in One Eye
Everything to Everyone
Crime and the City
Cloaked in Red
Perimeter Man
Skeleton Smile
Isela Vega
Lost in Groningen
Man Was Never Meant to Fly

Coliseum Goddamage EP

Year of the Pig
Miracle Cure
Turn to Dust
Reborn to Hang
Head Down & Burn
Set it Straight
American Machine
Ride on Death Riders
Am I Demon
Children of Our Own Creation (Live)
Miracle Cure (Live)
Give Up and Drive (Live)
No Salvation (Live)
Turn to Dust (Live)
Set it Straight (Live)
Claim Control (Live)

Coliseum Coliseum

Children of Our Own Creation
Hostage of Privilege
Burn Out Bright
In Time
This Mind Locked Inside This Body
Claim Control
Give Up and Drive
Pretty Situation
The Simple Answer Is...