Black Lips


Cole Alexander
Jared Swilley
Ian St. Pe
Joe Bradley

Atlanta flower punk pioneers Black Lips have announced that their first album in three years, Satan’s graffiti or God’s art?, is set for release May 5 on Vice Records. Produced by Sean Lennon at his studio compound in upstate New York throughout 2016, the album is the group’s most musically evolved to date, while still staying true to their original blistering take on fuzzy, dirty rock n’ roll.

During the recording the band isolated themselves from the outside world, infusing the album with a focused liveliness similar to the spirit that brought them together in the first place. On Satan’s graffiti or God’s art? founding members Cole Alexander and Jared Swilley teamed with former guitarist Jack Hines (who played in the group from 2002-2004) and recent additions Oakley Munson on drums and Zumi Rosow on saxophone. The album also features contributions by Saul Adamczewski of Fat White Family and guest vocals by Yoko Ono.

Black Lips were born of DIY ethic, working their way from sweaty basement shows in Georgia to huge crowds at international music festivals (including a performance at Fun Fun Fun Fest that appears in Terrence Malick’s forthcoming film Song to Song) to tours in such far flung locales as India, Jordan, Cyprus, Egypt, Lebanon, Iraqi Kurdistan, the United Arab Emirates, and many more. Satan’s graffiti or God’s art? vindicates Black Lips for sticking it out through many years of shifting trends and buzz bands; a sonically captivating document that is as creatively unhinged as it is precisely executed, one of the rawest and most expansive albums in the band’s storied history.


Black Lips Apocalypse Love

No Rave
Love Has Won
Stolen Valor
Lost Angel
Whips Of Holly
Apocalypse Love
Operation Angela
Crying On A Plane
Sharing My Cream
Among The Dunes
Tongue Tied
Antiaris Toxicaria
The Concubine

Black Lips Sing In A World That’s Falling Apart

Hooker Jon
Holding Me Holding You
Get It On Time
Angola Rodeo
Dishonest Men
Live Fast Die Slow

Black Lips Satan’s Graffiti Or God’s Art?

Overture: Sunday Mourning
Occidental Front
Can't Hold On
The Last Cul de Sac
Interlude: Got Me All Alone
Crystal Night
Squatting in Heaven
Interlude: Bongos Baby
Rebel Intuition
Interlude: E'lektric Spider Webz
We Know
In My Mind There's A Dream
Lucid Nightmare
Come Ride With Me
It Won't Be Long
Loser's Lament
Finale: Sunday Mourning

Black Lips Underneath the Rainbow

Drive by Buddy
Make You Mine
Dorner Party
Justice After All
Boys in the Wood
Do the Vibrate
I Don't Wanna Go Home
Dandelion Dust
Dog Years

Black Lips Arabia Mountain

Family Tree
Modern Art
Spidey's Curse
Mad Dog
Mr. Driver
Bicentennial Man
Go Out and Get It
Raw Meat
Bone Marrow
The Lie
Dumpster Dive
New Direction
Don't Mess Up My Baby
You Keep On Running
Kiss it Goodbye [iTunes Bonus Track]

Black Lips 200 Million Thousand

Take My Heart
Starting Over
Let it Grow
Trapped in a Basement
Short Fuse
I'll Be With You
Big Black Baby Jesus of Today
Again & Again
Old Man
The Drop I Hold
Body Combat
I Saw God
Meltdown [Hidden Track]

Black Lips Good Bad Not Evil

I Saw a Ghost (Lean)
O Katrina!
Veni Vidi Vici
It Feels Alright
Lock and Key
How Do You Tell a Child that Someone Has Died
Bad Kids
Step Right Up
Cold Hands
Off the Block
Slime and Oxygen
Transcendental Light [+Hidden Track]

Black Lips Let it Bloom

Sea of Blasphemy
Can't Dance
Hippie, Hippie, Hoorah [Jacques Dutronc Cover]
Not a Problem
Gung Ho
Everybody's Doin' It
Feeling Gay
Take Me Home (Back to Boone)
Gentle Violence
She's Gone
Fairy Stories
Dirty Hands
Punk Slime

Black Lips We Did Not Know the Forest Spirit Made the Flowers Grow

Time of the Scab
Dawn of the Age of Tomorrow
Nothing at All/100 New Fears
Notown Blues
Ghetto Cross
Jumpin' Around
Super X-13
Hope Jazz [Bonus Track]

Black Lips Black Lips!

Throw it Away
Ain't No Deal
Stone Cold
I've Got a Knife
Down and Out
Sweet Kin
Crazy Girl
Everybody Loves a Cocksucker
Can't Get Me Down
You're Dumb
Say Hello to the Postman